7pm on Tuesday 23rd February 2016

Trades and Labour Club, 200 Duke Street, Sheffield S2 5QQ


6.30pm            Doors open for registration and collection of delegate cards

7pm                 Welcome by President

7.05pm            Minutes of 158th AGM 24th February 2015

7.10pm            Guest speaker: Steve Gillan General Secretary Prison Officers Association

We are delighted to have Steve Gillan as our guest speaker this year. The POA                 is a strong progressive union which has faced up to a ban on strike action by              bravely defying the law. Steve is also very much a friend of Trades Councils                       and sits on the TUC JCC and chaired last year’s Trades Council Conference in                         Crewe.

7.25pm            Questions and comments from the floor


7.40pm            Reports from

                        President Bob Jeffery – Annual Report 2015

                        Secretary Martin Mayer – affiliations 2016

                        Andy Yeardley – Treasurer’s report


7.50 pm           Elections:                         Officers                       President; 2 Vice Presidents; Secretary; Treasurer

                        Executive Committee*          12 places + 2 additional women’s places

                                                                        and 4   JSSC** places


8pm                 AGM closes


8pm -9pm      February delegate Meeting


* Last year a number of seats were unfilled. We encourage branches to nominate particularly from unions not already represented on the Exec committee.


** Joint Shop Steward Committee (JSSC) are workplaces where more than one trade union join together for collective bargaining p[purposes and representation.



Nominations for STUC Officer positions 2016


President                                 Nominated by

Bob Jeffery UCU                     UCU Sheffield Hallam; PCS DWP; UNITE NE/GEO/1 Sheffield                                          East; UNITE Sheffield GEO2 NE/0824; UNITE 302/25         


Vice Presidents (2)

Dave Smith UNITE                UNITE 302/25; UNITE Sheffield GEO2 NE/0824; ASLEF      

Ray Jackson ASLEF                 UNITE Sheffield GEO2 NE/0824; ASLEF       


Martin Mayer UNITE             UNITE 302/25; PCS DWP; UNITE Sheffield GEO2 NE/0824;

                                                UNITE NE/GEO/1 Sheffield East; ASLEF



Andy Yeardley UNITE            UNITE 302/25; UNITE Sheffield GEO2 NE/0824; ASLEF      


Executive committee (12 places)

Tom Bishell PCS                     PCS DWP

Bill Ronksley ASLEF                UNITE NE/Geo/1 Sheffield East; ASLEF

Ray Jackson ASLEF                 UNITE NE/Geo/1 Sheffield East

Les Wray UNITE                     UNITE 302/25

Julia Armstrong NUJ              NUJ South Yorkshire

Daragh O’Neill UNITE                        UNITE Community Branch

Simon Murch                         NUT

Maxine Bowler                       UNITE NE/403/5 N4P


Executive Committee: Two additional women’s places


Executive Committee: four Joint Shop Stewards Committee places


Auditors (2):